Post Fayre Craftiness!

So today I though I would put to use some of the awesome things I bought at the knitting and stitching show on Friday and Saturday, so here is what I got up to.

Felting:
I have wanted to try needle felting for a while, but never got around to it. I just never got round to getting the bits. At the fayre, I bought a kit. (We had bought kits before in Hobbycraft, but had struggled with them as you only get a very limited set of materials with little to no room for error) This kit was different. It just had a piece of felt, a needle, a board and 5 full sized balls of roving. I got it because it gave room to be creative.
I purchased a set for £13 in purples and teas. And this is what I came up with.

2015-03-08 18.04.48

Do you like it. I don’t think it’s bad for a first attempt at a felted landscape. I enjoyed it immensely as it allowed me to paint with fibers. I would love to be able to paint but my skills there are rubbish, but if there’s one thing I know, it’s fibers!

At any rate, it has definitely inspired me to try my hand, and I may or may not have already ordered a full rainbow of felts and a clover needle felting tool to continue with 😛 So keep your eyes peeled, more needle felting will definitely be coming your way in the future!!!

Fabric Painting:
I collect canvas bags. It’s kinda a new thing but I seem to have a quickly growing collection! So when I popped into tiger and noticed they were selling plain tote bags for just £1 I grabbed a couple with the intention of prettifying them, either with paint or applique. And at the fayre I saw this wonderful bamboo stencil, so I grabbed it!2015-04-04 23.23.59

Here is the result! I love it. I love anything oriental and I love these colours. What do you think?

I also did some yarn dying (My first ever attempt eek!), but thats quite a big subject and its not dry yet, so I will update you on that with a separate post when it is completely finished!

Leave a Reply

