Zaki’s Superhero Cape

I have just had a very busy weekend – over 12 hours spent on public transport. On Saturday, I traveled down to Southampton to meet my partners grandparents for the first time. They were so sweet. I spent a lot of time chatting to his grandma, who is unfortunately not very mobile any more, about crochet and knitting. I found out that she gets her husband and family to buy teddies in charity shops, then she knits them little outfits. My partners granddad then names them and dispatches them off to their grandchildrens school fayres, where they sell them and give the money to charity! Isn’t that a wonderful way to use your talents and keep yourself active.

Then on Sunday, we traveled down to Ashford to visit my auntie Lynsey and uncle John and their son, My cousin, Zak, who was turning 8 that week.

I needed to whip up a gift. Rather luckily, I had a half finished cape sitting on the cupboard, that I had started before Christmas, but didn’t manage to finish on time! So out it came, and so began the marathon to finish it on time! (Which, by the way took me right down to the wire, as I was still completing it on the way to visit him, and had to wrap it in a rush as the train pulled in to Ashford International station!). But before I wrapped it, I made sure to photograph it and write down what I did, so that I could share it with you!

 

You Will Need:

6mm hook

2x Balls of DK Yarn – I used Patons Fab in Green and Black

 

Instructions:

1. Chain 114+4 for the first double crochet. Turn.
2. Double Crochet into the 4th chain on the hook then continue to DC to the end of the chain. Turn.
3. Chain 3 and DC to end of row. Turn.
4-7. Repeat step 3. You will now have a long rectangle of 6 rows. You should now change color.
8. With new color attached, Chain 3, and DC 89 times, for a total of 90 DC. Turn.
9. Chain 3, DC to end of previous row. Turn.
10-13. Repeat step 9. Change color.
14. With new color attached, Chain 3. DC to end of the previous row. Turn.
15-16. Chain 3. DC to end of the previous row. Turn. Change Color.
17. With new color attached DC to end of previous row. Turn. You will now be at the bottom of the cape. This is where we will begin to add the flare.
18. Chain 4, 14 Treble Crochet, then 10 Half Trebles, then 10 Doubles, 10 Half Doubles and 10 Singles. Turn.
19. Repeat Step 18 but backwards.
20-21. Repeat steps 18 and 19. Turn.
22. Chain 3. DC 90 back up to the top of the cape. When you reach the top of the triangle we just created, simply step from the final SC of row 21 to the next DC of row 17. At the end of the row, change color. Turn.
23-25. Repeat rows 14 to 16.
26-31. Repeat rows 8 to 13. You will now be at the top corner of the cape. Change Color. Chain 24+3 for the first DC. Turn.
32. DC into the 4th ch from the hook and the next 22 chains. Continue to DC into each of the 90 DC of the previous row, for a total of 114 DC. Turn.
33-37. Repeat Step 3. Fasten off.
You have now completed your superhero Cape, and This is what it will look like!
2015-04-19 13.55.48
So obviously, I had 1 more color change than is in the pattern. This was unintended, unfortunately, I ran out of black (I accidentally left it at home) so I had to finish it with the green. Also, due to lack of facilities (I was, after all, finishing it on a train) I was unable to block it. Obviously, It would have been better blocked, but I didn’t have time. You should definitely block it if you make it, as it will help with the flow of the fabric. It may also have been nice to have added an edging, but again, time prevented me from this. You should have an experiment! Let me know, I am sure yours will turn out much better than mine.
Leave a Reply

