Rugged Bohemian Waistcoat Pattern

IMG_6857Secret Cinema! The best experience of my life. So good I went Twice. Luckily a friend of mine is one of the actors so I got heavily reduced tickets, but I would definitely say its well worth the full ticket price!

Anyways, a friend and I made plans to go, and they were such short notice that I didn’t have time to order costume pieces, so I had to make something myself. I wanted a ragged sort of waistcoat thing, but I had less than 24 hours to make it in, so instead of searching for a pattern, I just made it up as I went along. And now I have written you a pattern. Aren’t you lucky!

 

You Will Need:

5mm Hook

2x Balls of Wendy Ramsdale DK

 

IMG_6864

Method

Row 1. Ch 90 + 3 for first Treble Crochet Stitch of next row. Turn.

Row 2. Treble into 4th Chain from hook. *Chain 3, Skip 3 Ch in foundation row. Treble crochet into 4th ch.* Repeat from * to * until end, where you will have 1 chain stitch left on foundation row. Treble Crochet into this stitch. Turn.

Row 3. Ch 3. Treble Crochet into next stitch. *Ch 3, skip 3 Ch from previous row. Treble Crochet into the top of the Treble from the previous row.* Repeat from * to * until end, where you will have 1 chain stitch left on previous row. Treble Crochet into this stitch. Turn.

Row 4 to 15. Repeat row 3.

Row 16.1. Begin as Row 3, but only continue for 6 sets of Ch 3. Treble into next stitch. (So thats 9 posts and 6 lots of Ch 3). Turn.

Row 17.1 to 25.1. Repeat Row 16.1

Row 26.1. To give shape, we now need to add increases. So begin as row 16.1, but at the end of the second set of 3ch, you should place your triple Crochet into the same place as the previous treble. 3 Ch then Treble into the next 5 Stitches, 3 Ch then treble into the same space as the previous Treble. Treble again into the next stitch. Turn.

Row 27.1. Repeat Row 26.1  but backwards. Add an extra 3 ch and Treble before the final post. Turn.

Row 28.1. Chain 3. Tr into next Stitch. Ch 3 and Treble to end. Treble into last Stitch. Turn.

Row 29.1 – Row 35.1. Repeat Row 28.1.

Row 16.2 to Row 35.2. We now need to create the other side of the front of the waistcoat. SS into the other end of row 15, and repeat rows 16.1 to 35.1.

Fasten off.

Now you should add some tassels. I cut 8 lengths of yarn for each cluster. I pulled them through the bottom of every other Treble post along the bottom edge. I used a simple Lanyard Hitch Loop to attach them, then I trimmed them all to an equal length.

And you are done! Yay! This pattern is very quick! It only took me about 7 hours, a personal record for me!

If you have any questions let me know. I am still learning to write patterns so if you have any questions or tips, just let me know!

IMG_6863

 

Leave a Reply

