Cardamon Cupcakes with Pistachio Buttercream

My birthday is coming round the corner, and due to the limitations of working in a scare attraction during Halloween and therefore having your birthday right in the middle of the attractions busiest week of the year, means that birthday celebrations have to be held much earlier of later. So my parents visited me this weekend, and this meant cake was in order. After Nadiya’s blinding run on the bake off, I was feeling something a bit more asian, so I decided to have a go at some cardamon cake. Here is the result:

IMG_6895

IMG_6899

What do you think? My parents thought they were great. I used this recipe to make the base cake. The only modification is that I ground my own cardamon pods as there was no ground cardamon in the shop when I went ingredient shopping. This gave it a slightly spicier finish. I finished them as you would a butterfly cake. I made a simple buttercream, but with the addition of finely ground pistachio (once again, I ground these myself) and a fine sprinkle of icing sugar to finish. Give it a go!

Leave a Reply

