Poundland Ice Cream Candle Craft

Hello all. I was wandering around poundland the other day, and I came across the candles section. It occurred to me that you could make some really cool things. I had wanted to make a candle for a while now, but the stuff you need to get together can come to quite a lot of money. So I thought I would come up with a thrifty alternative. Here it is –
image

What do you think? Cute right. Here is how I did it!

You will need:
1 pack of vanilla tea lights
1 ice cream sundae glass
1 pack of cupcake sprinkles
Some scrap cotton string
image

Method:
1. First take the tea lights and remove them from their metal cases. Then cut them in half, which will release the wicks. I used around 20 of them
2. Place them in a pan. Then turn the hob on at a low temperature. It will take a while for them to melt down, but it means you have better control over the process. You don’t want it to boil as this could be dangerous!
image

3. Now we need to prepare the wick. All you need for this is some cotton string. I twisted 3 strands together but in hindsight I think one would have sufficed . Just take a length of string and drop it in the wax for a few seconds. Then remove it with a fork and leave it to set. This should only take a few seconds, but to speed it up you could run it under a cold tap.
image

4. Now we should prepare the sundae glass. Remove and stickers and make sure it is clean. Then run some water into the glass and swish it around so the inside of the glass is wet but not dripping. Pour out any excess. Now pour in the hundreds and thousands. Roll the glass around allowing the sprinkles to stick to the side of the glass. You will loose some of the sprinkles when you pour in the wax so be liberal. Make the sprinkles as thick as you can.
image

5. Now it is time to add the wick and wax. Take the wick and secure it between two pencils or chopsticks. This will keep it suspended in the wax in the correct position. Pour in the wax to the desired level.
image

6. Now we must wait. It will take a good few hours for this much wax to set. If you would like to speed it up, you can place it in the fridge. Just be careful not to disturb it too much as that can lead to a less clear edge around the top.
image

What do you think. I am really proud of this candle. I think it would make a really sweet handmade gift. And the best part is, it only cost me about £2.50 to make. But it looks like it is worth so much more!

Let me know if you have a go. I would love to see your finished result. Or if you have any tips on thrifty handmade gifts, let me know!

Leave a Reply

