Cake Decoration Ideas

About 2 weeks ago, my colleagues and I hosted a charity bake sale. So it was time for me to get my bake on.
I decided to go basic with the cake but flashy with the finish.
I made 2 different cakes. Both were Victoria sponge – so that’s the same quantity in egg, sugar, butter and flour, with an added teaspoon of vanilla extract. Here is how I topped them:

image

image

The first batch of sponge I baked into a large foil tray, then topped with vanilla icing and sprinkled with hundreds and thousands, mini eggs and smarties.
The second batch, I baked as cupcakes. Once cooled, I hollowed them and filled with marmalade, then topped with chocolate icing, orange pearls and a slice of Terry’s chocolate orange. Hey presto. Quick and simple!

Leave a Reply

