Stash Sort Through

Hello all! How are we?

First of all, I would like to apologise for going AWOL for the last month. Things have been getting tough at work with the summer holidays approaching. And I had a big decision to make. I have worked in this place for a year and 9 months and i just couldnt take it anymore, I was miserable and irritable all the time, and the company I was working for really wasnt helping the matter. So I up and Quit. On Friday 29th July I clocked in for the last time. Money is nice but happiness is better. Before handing in my notice, I decided to start saving money so that I could continue to support myself for a good few months after leaving, and I have a wonderfully supportive partner who will help me along the way. It just got to the point where the stress was no longer worth it.

Anyway, all of this means that I will now have a lot more time to craft and to tend to my blog and slightly neglected Facebook page.Yay! 

I have decided that to use my time during unemployment effectively, I still need to make sure I am being productive. I have allocated myself specific time slots for job searching. And when I am not job searching, I can be creating more content for my blog, designing new patterns, etc. 

I have a lot of very pretty yarn sitting abough that I bought becauase it was cheap/beautiful/both but have never gotten aroind to using. My partner suggested that a good place to start wouls be to lay out all of my yarn and work out what I have and what needs to be done. I organised it into three categories, and here they are:

Multiple Skeins of Yarn

These are all yarns that I thought to buy in bulk, some with ideas in mind, others with the vague notion of finding a pattern to suit. Clockwise from top left, we have:

6 Balls of Drops Muskat, which I bought at the Spring Knitting and Stitching Show, with the idea of creating a lovely shawl

4 Balls of Istex Alfoss Lopi, bought at a charity shop. I had no idea what to make with it, but it was an absolute steal and the money was going to a good cause.
9 Balls of Sirdar Soft Spun, bought in hobbycraft. I think I would like to make a lovely cardigan from this. I have the pattern in my head, I just need to get it made and onto paper.

8 Balls of Bergere de France Estivale. I bought these at a bargain price on deramores with the idea of turning them into an ankle length version of my boho waistcoat. This has been in my stash for over a year now…

6 Balls of Sirdar Big Bamboo. I have no idea what to do with this but I thought it was so soft and lovely that I had to have it. This has also been in my stash for well over a year…

4 Balls of Rowan Chenille. I did not know what I would do with this when I bought it, but now I think I might make it into a lovely teddy bear for a friend who is expecting.

I also have 10 balls of Noro yarn which didnt make it into the picture. I still have no idea what to do with them, but they were a bargain, at just £40 the lot. Thats a saving of anout £50!!!! 

And, also unpictured, I have 4 balls of Novita Bambu, bought in Helsinkis’ best yarn shop, as part of my new tradition of finding the best yarn shop in which ever city I visit.

Single Skeins of Yarn

These are all of the single balls of yarn that I own, that I bought because they were lovely, or was given as a gift, but have never made plans for them. Clockwise from top left:

Sirdar Giselle – which I bought because I fell in love with the combination of sea green and copper.

Debbie Bliss Cotton DK bought for me as a gift

Some Unbranded Sequinned Yarn bought for me as a present

Schoppel Crazy Zauberball bought back from germany, as per holiday tradition

One ball of unbranded had dyed rug yarn, bought in a local craft market

Novita Hurre, purchased in Helsinki

James C Brett Monsoon bought because it was beautiful

Grundl Lisa Print, given to me as a christmas gift

Works in Progress

This is the things I have started but never finished. All of these projects have been sat unfinished for a very long time. Clockwise from top left:

Great Escape Wrist Warmers, using one ball of Sirdar Americana and one ball of Sirdar Rafaella. I started this project in may 2015 when I was getting on a plane for the first time in my life. I was petrified so thought that maybe taking a small project with me might help with my nerves. In the end, I absolutely loved flying and spent almost the entire time pressing my nose against the windows absolutely mesmerised by the clouds! So I only ever got a small way through the wrist cuff of the first wrist warmer. I still have a ways to go!

Fluffy Double Crochet Cushion Covers. Made usong Duchessa Lain du Nord. These have been in the works for about a year.

A Dino Scoodie, which I have been working on for well over a year. Made using Hayfield Bonus DK. the scarf bit is complete. I am half way through the hood and still have yet to start the mittens and spikes.

Some Granny Square Booties. I plan to make one purple with white trim and one white with purple with trim, using Rowan Pure Wool.
So there we are. I guess I now need to get started on using up some of these yarns, and planning what to do with the random balls of yarn. I will keep you updated on my plans and will post progress pictures. If you have any pattern suggestions, let me know! Until then, Happy Hooking!


2 thoughts on “Stash Sort Through

Leave a Reply

