Navajo Chevron Bag Pattern

Yaaaaay! I come bearing a lovely new pattern for you! Arent you lucky!

I spent about a week working on this in little dribs and drabs, when the cat has allowed me too. I was inspired by a lovely lady from California on my square exchange (you can find it here) who is currently making a Navajo inspired blanket. When I agreed to swap with her I went out and grabbled the colours required and as I made them I fell in love with the scheme, so much so that I decided to design something to show it off! So here it is! What do you think?

I think the strap really sets it off. I tried really hard to find a suitable bag strap online, but couldnt. Then, in a moment of brilliance, I remembered I had a brown bag strap going unused that came with a handbag I recently bought for interviews and such other formal engagements. 

Anyways, here are the instructions on how to make it! 

You will need

any dk yarn, around 100g in total.

4.5mm Hook

Method

1. Chain 56. Turn.

2. Do a single Half Double Crochet into the second chain from the hook. Skip 1 Chain, then do a single Half Double Crochet into the next 12 Chains. In the Next Chain, stitch 3 HDC. This will create the peak of the chevron. Stitch a single HDC into the next 12 Chains. Then skip 2 Chain. This will create the trough of the chevron. Do a single Half Double Crochet into the next 12 Chains, followed by 3 HDC into the next Chain, then a single HDC into the next 12 Chains. Then skip a Chain, and to finish the row, stitch a single HDC into the final Chain. Turn your work.

3. Chain 2, then HDC into the next stitch. Do a single Half Double Crochet into the next 12 stitches followed by 3 HDC into the next stitch for the peak. Stitch a single HDC into the next 12 stitches. Then skip 2 Stitches at the trough. Do a single HDC into the next 12 stitches, followed by 3 HDC into the next stitch for the peak, then a single HDC into the next 12 stitches. Then skip a stitch, and to finish the row, stitch a single HDC into the final stitch. Turn your work.

4-55. Repeat step 3.

Pockets

If you want to add pockets, now is the time. I do not have a specific pattern for these, but they are just a bog standard rectangle. I measured the size of my phone and my oyster wallet and made rectangles that were slightly larger than those.

Construction

The first thing you should do is sew on the pockets. To decide the best location, fold the bag up as you would sew it and lay down the rectangles between the layers. 

When you sew them down, make sure to sew into the backs of the stitches only as this will stop the stitches from being visible on the outside of the bag. 

Once this is done, you need to stitch up the sides of the bag. The method to do this isnt really important. You could sew it together or crochet it together. I chose to crochet it together.

Lay the bag flat and fold the bottom half up as shown above. Place a stitch marker on the back layer at the point where the front layer ends on both sides. This will help you to lign the sides up again.

Line up the colours. As you can see, mine is a little of in alignment as my colour blocks are in 7’s but its close enough. Attatch a stitch marker which lines up with thr pointsWhat we first need to do is create a loop. To do this start at the fold point. 

Attatch the yarn then stitch 2 Single Crochets into each post space along the front side until you reach the edge of the bag. Chain 6, then SC into the opposite stitch on the back side of the bag (the one we put the stitch marker in earlier). Do another SC in this stitch then do 2 SC into the rest or the stitches, until you completel the loop and meet up with the initial SC. 

Finally, hold the 2 sides together lining up the stitches from the previous row, and Slip Stitch the sides together, placing the hook through both the SC in the back layer and the front layer. Stop when you reach the last SC. 

Fasten off and weave in all ends.
There we are. What do you think? I would love to see any chevrons you have been working on. I have a new love for chevrons! In all forms, be that papercraft, yarn work, even baked chevrons! I may be suffering from a bit of chevron madness!

One thought on “Navajo Chevron Bag Pattern

Leave a Reply

