Happy Valentines!

Its that time of year again, when the streets are lined with couples holding hands, the shops are full of people panicking and buying gifts last minute, its valentines.

Now, I am not a fan of valentines. I kind of feel like its a purely commercial thing – if valentines was really about love then it wouldnt be neccessary to spend huge quantities of money of flashy gestures. You really shouldnt need a day scheduled for you to be romantic – you should be showing your love every day. 

Having said that, it is nice to have an extra excuse to cuddle up together and tell each other how much we appreciate each other – something that does become a little difficult sometimes. So I decided that I would make a card. This is what I came up with.

I used just a single card pack that I bought in The Works for Β£3. It has coloured cards and patterned cards and envelopes. I decided to cut the little hearts from the patterned card.
When I had cut out the hearts, I looked at my scraps and decided I actually quite liked the negative spaces, so I used them to make another card. I addressed it from the cat, because she does love her daddy ever so much!

What do you think. I had to keep them simple to minimise the strain on my hands, but I think their simplicity is what gives them their charm!

8 thoughts on “Happy Valentines!

Leave a Reply

