Sweet Squash Cake

I love to experiment with cake. Trying new flavours or ingredients keeps it interesting! So when my parents told me thry would be visiting me, I had the perfect opportunity to do some baking! 

I decided I would like to make a root vegetable cake, so why not try butternut squash, I thought.

This was the result!

It turned out a bit like bread pudding! It was super sweet and moist! I think this is because I used a bit too much butternut squash – so if you would prefer it cakey you can remove around 150g of the butternut squash. However, as it is, my partner and my mum and dad all love bread pudding so they really enjoyed it as it is!

Here is the recipe!

Ingredients:

250g self-raising flour

400g golden caster sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon ginger

350ml veg oil

4 eggs

350-500g grated butternut squash

Recipe:

1. Mix together all dry ingredients

2. Add in the oil mixing in gradually.

3. Crack the eggs into a bowl and beat until smooth and combined. Then mix them into the cake mix gradually.

4. Finally mix in the grated butternut squash a handful at a time. 

5. Pour into a loaf tin – this recipe is enough for 2 loafs.

6. Bake on a lower shelf for 20 minutes at 180 degrees. Then check on the cakes progress – the more butternut squash you put in the moister the mixture will be so the longer it will take to cook. Keep adding 5 minutes until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clear. 

And there you are! All done! Yummy yummy yummy! If you give it a go let me know what you think. 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Squash Cake

Leave a Reply

