Product Review – Scheepjes Swift

Now my hands are better, we decided to have a go at using my swift to ball up my yarn for my Simply Crochet Pick’n’Mix CAL. (Yes, I still havent started it…). I am planning to give it a go next week, when I have a 3 week break from work! I am hopeful that I can catch up.
Anyways, I just wanted to tell you how much I love the swift! It was so quick and easy to use and it made balling up the yarn so much easier. When I tried to ball up the first ball, before I got the swift, it took me forever, and it resulted in anger and frustration as the last 20g ended up getting tangled! But this swift made it so easy and fast! 

My only criticism is the fact that it does creak a little sometimes. My advice is to condition the wood a little before using it – just rub a very small amount of vegetable oil up the shaft and the creaking pretty much goes away! 

I would definately reccoment the scheepjes swift – as well as being a well known good quality brand, it was actually the best price – unless you are happy to pay peanuts for something that is going to inevitably be rubbish. I bought this swift from Wool Warehouse for just 28.99. Bargain!

Whilst I am on the subject of winding yarn, I came up with an ingenious (so say I) way of keeping track of my yarns for my CAL! 

All I have done is bought some cheap hair clips and then using a sharpie I have written the letter corresponding to the pattern. 

I dont know. Maybe this is a dumb idea. Maybe its something you have all been doing all along and I am just late to the party! But I am pleased with this idea! It helps me to keep a track of what yarn is what and also keep a track of the ends! 

Do you have your own way of keeping track of yarns and colours? I would love to know! 

4 thoughts on “Product Review – Scheepjes Swift

Leave a Reply

