Indian Roti Recipe

I aboslutely love indian food. I would say I cook curry at least once a week. Its just so flavoursome and warming. And, surprisingly healthy (depending on your choice of meat, obviously). And I absolutely love indian breads. I make quite good naan but that is time consuming so requires a lot of thought and planning. But Roti on the other hand…

I originally learnt how to make Roti at a cooking festival – I remember sitting in one of the show kitchens and watching Shelina Permalloo showing how to make it and I thought it was crazy how easy it looked, so I went home and I gave it a go. And I have been making them ever since. 

This here is my adaptation.

All you need is Flour and Water. I know! Crazy right! But it works.

I add an extra level to it by bunging in some spices from my store cupboard. I particularly like to use madras spice or turmeric, cumin or garlic. 

So here is what you do. 

First create a dough. There really is no exact science of measurement to it. Just whack some flour (and any spices you would like) into a bowl and then gradually add in water until it comes together to create a dough.  

Divide the dough into however many roti you would like. Each peice of dough should be around the size of a satsuma.

Roll out into a rough sircle shape. Isong a pastry brush lightly brush the surface with oil (olive oil or vegetable oil will do).

Then fold as follows. 

Roll out again to a similar size as before. The oil keeps the layers seperate giving a satisfying texture when cooked.

Heat up an iron frying pan until really hot and brush with a small amount of oil.

Place the bread onto the hot pan. Leave it to sit for 30 seconds. You should see little air bubbles appearing in the dough. 

Flip and cook for another 30 seconds.

Remove from the pan and devour warm as a side to a lovely warm curry. 

See I told you it was easy! Its so easy that I often nock some up as a snack! I am sure you will all be giving them ago! Let me know when you do! 

3 thoughts on “Indian Roti Recipe

Leave a Reply

