WIP Wednesday (07/06/17)

Ok. So I am a day late again. Whoopsie. I just came off of a 7 day streak of night shifts so yesterday when I finished I was so tired I couldnt even work out how to turn the computer on. You may or may not know that the main function of my job in the railway industry is in security, specifically terrorism prevention, and yes, I was working during the latest attack in london. That night was both physically and mentally exhausting being that my station is so close to the attack. We had to be on our guard all night and as more and more news came to us from the police it looked more and more like it was coming our way. But it didnt and for that I am grateful. I am also terribly sorry for the people who lost their life those who were injured or even just affected by the event. But please be assured people like me and my colleagues as well as the emergency services are working to keep you safe every day and whilst we cant always prevent attacks we do help to stop many and keep the risk of attack as low as it can be by not giving them the opening they need.

Anyways, back to subject, I am completely exhausted but over the course of this week I did manage to make some good progress on my 3rd Battersea Doggy Blanket. 

I have managed another 32 rows, which is pretty good progress. Thats more than 4 rows a day. 

Since Saturday nights attack and also the Manchester attack it can be easy to feel down on the world, but I figured something – I was sat there crocheting this blanket at about 2am, and I decided that the only way we can stand up to terrorism is to not only support the victims but to show kindness ad compassion every day in as many ways as we can. I already donate money on a monthly basis to Mind and Cats Protection and I regularly make clothing donations to BHF. But I should and could do more. Making these doggy blankets for battersea has really motivated me and made me feel good. So I think I should continue making more things for charity. So if any of you have any charitable crochet project suggestions, leave me a comment. I really want to do more to contribute my skills to those in need. 

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday (07/06/17)

  1. That must have been an incredibly stressful week! I like your attitude about showing kindness and compassion in spite of the horrible events. It is a world problem and everyone needs to adopt the same attitude as you. Help and volunteer anywhere and anytime that you can. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, what a stressful job you have. You are so generous giving away your makes to charity. There are lots of projects about, the octopus for a preemie thing is big right now, twiddle muffs for the elderly, the worry monsters (the people who asked for my sewing pattern also want knitted and crocheted ones). The list is endless. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

